2018 Online Symposium: Envisioning Project-Based Language Learning (PBLL)

Project-Based Language Learning (PBLL) offers a framework for designing powerful, culturally contextualized experiences that create opportunities for learners to use their language to address real world needs that are personally meaningful to them. The PBLL Symposium brings together language educators, researchers, and innovators to explore the potential of PBLL to enhance and transform language education and provides an excellent introduction to this topic.

This unique, FREE online event will provide attendees with a broad overview of PBLL, engaging interactions with world language teachers who have implemented PBLL in their classrooms, and the chance to network with professionals who are passionate about this topic. The symposium format makes it easy to integrate into busy schedules. Four interactive sessions are distributed across two days (i.e., two sessions per day). 

The symposium registration deadline (January 15) has passed.

Cost: FREE

  

Wednesday, January 17

SESSION 1 - 10 am Hawai‘i | 12pm PST | 1pm MST | 2pm CST | 3pm EST

Defining High Quality Project-Based Language Learning

Presented by Bob Lenz | Webinar video

SESSION 2 - 10:45 am Hawai‘i | 12:45pm PST | 1:45pm MST | 2:45pm CST | 3:45pm EST

Project Showcase: “Re-imagining Language Learning through PBLL”

Presented by Chantal Esquivias & Lucía Rubio | Webinar video

Thursday, January 18

SESSION 3 - 10 am Hawai‘i | 12pm PST | 1pm MST | 2pm CST | 3pm EST

Project Showcase: “Gaming the curriculum: Creating board games for local Italian speakers”

Presented by Barbara Bird | Webinar video

SESSION 4 - 10:45 am Hawai‘i | 12:45pm PST | 1:45pm MST | 2:45pm CST | 3:45pm EST

Preparing Teachers to Design Project-Based Language Learning Experiences

Presented by NFLRC staff & Marta Gonzalez-Lloret | Webinar video

Related Events

2016 Online Symposium: Project-Based Language Learning: Inspiring Teachers, Transforming Learning

2017 Online Symposium: The Power of Project-Based Language Learning (PBLL)

2018 Fundamentals of Project-Based Language Learning Online Institute (PBLL)

2018 Intensive Summer Institute: Pragmatics in Project-Based Language Learning (PBLL)

Tagged as 2014-2018 pbl pbll upcoming