2017 Online Symposium: The Power of Project-Based Language Learning (PBLL)

Project-based Language Learning (PBLL) means much more than having students create an advertisement, develop a review game, make a poster, or give a presentation.  Rigorous PBLL requires a deep understanding of Gold Standard PBL (Buck Institute for Education, 2015), with special attention to the principles of Sustained Inquiry, Authenticity, Reflection, and A Public Audience. In the world language classroom, PBLL offers a framework for designing powerful, culturally contextualized language learning experiences that support learners in using their language to address “real world” needs/purposes that are personally meaningful to them.  PBLL also presents unique challenges when compared to project-based learning (PBL) in other disciplines because the very means by which learners engage in project work--the target language--is also the object of their learning.  

On January 11-12, 2017, the Project-Based Language Learning (PBLL) Symposium will bring together language educators, policymakers, researchers, and innovators for conversations regarding the potential of PBLL to enhance and transform language education. This unique, FREE online event will provide attendees with a broad overview of PBLL, engaging interactions with world language teachers who have implemented PBLL in their classrooms, and the chance to network with professionals who are passionate about this topic. The symposium format makes it easy to integrate into busy schedules. Four interactive sessions are distributed across two days (i.e., two sessions per day).

 

The registration deadline (January 9, 2017) has passed. We are no longer accepting submissions. Webinar recordings will be available on this webpage the week after the symposium.

 

 

Dates:  January 11-12, 2017

Session Times:  (Two daily sessions, 90 minutes total, starting at:)  12pm Hawai‘i | 2pm PST | 3pm MST | 4pm CST | 5pm EST

Cost: Free

 

Tagged as 2014-2018 pbl pbll