A teacher working on a computer

    2022 OLP Series: Engaging Online Language Learners through SEL

    • January 27-February 24, 2022
    • Director(s): Stephen Tschudi & Naiyi Fincham
    • Facilitator(s):

      Ellen Hart (Project Advisor), Sarah Boutin (Facilitator)

    This series will highlight how online language instructors can use the Social Emotional Learning Framework to engage students in the virtual classroom and enhance the experience and satisfaction of learning a language online. Topics will include highlighting learner self awareness, promoting self management and self motivation, expanding social awareness through online extracurricular activities, teaching responsible decision making through storytelling and building positive relationship skills in a supportive way.

    Successful completion of this course will earn an optional digital badge conferred by the National Foreign Language Resource Center (University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa). More information on digital badge requirements will be posted soon on this page. Badge earners may be eligible to earn a Continuing Education Unit (CEU) towards maintaining their professional qualifications.

    Registration is FREE but required.

    LAST DAY TO REGISTER for access to the live webinar series is January 27, 2022. Please note that a screencast of these webinar sessions will be recorded and made available as an open educational resource in TED-Ed.

    Webinar Dates (Thursdays): Jan 27 | Feb 3 | Feb 10 | Feb 17 | Feb 24

    • 2:00-3:30 pm (Hawaii Standard Time)
    • 4:00-5:30 pm (Pacific)
    • 5:00-6:30 pm (Mountain)
    • 6:00-7:30 pm (Central)
    • 7:00-8:30 pm (Eastern)

    January 27

    • Integrating SEL in Online Language Classrooms & Promoting Self-Awareness with Students: Anne Marie Gunter & Xatli Stox (North Carolina Department of Public Instruction)

    February 3

    • SEL and Engagement in Virtual Classrooms: Shara Packman (North Carolina Virtual Public School)
    • Building Compassion and Curiosity in Online Learning: Yo Azama (California State University, Monterey Bay)

    February 10

    • SEL in the World Languages Classroom: Developing Responsible Decision-Making through Storytelling: Alegria Ribadeneira (Colorado State University, Pueblo)
    • Beyond Basic Storytelling: Ed Bamford (Moon Area High School)

    February 17

    • Fostering Community in an Online Learning Environment: Revae Bostwick (North Carolina Virtual Public School)
    • Raising Social Awareness Through Cultural Connections: Meaghan DeRusso (North Carolina Virtual Public School)

    February 24

    • Sharing ASL Tools for World Language Teachers to Leverage: Jan Fried (Kapi‘olani Community College)
    • Positive Interactions in the Online Language Classroom to Improve Relationship Skills: Megan Ferry (Union College)